happy is who forgets ….

Everyone should feel comfortable in his own clothes while visiting an opera or theater. Okay, I think. Let´s look for a classical outfit. A nice, simple dress (I definitely don´t want to be overdressed) and my best jewelry.  I think that a visit to the opera or theater is not like going to the movies. My dress did not cost a fortune. To be honest I  bought it a year ago during sales for almost nothing. On an evening like this I want to feel special too. But what I see many times this evening makes me wonder. Sneakers at the opera? A simple shirt, paired with some jeans?

I wonder how I would have felt in sneakers and jeans in between people wearing evening dress and even a tail coat. For sure out of place.

After 3 hours of Johann Strauss´ „The Fledermaus“  I am happy and applauding to the singers, actors, the conductor and the orchestra and to everyone who´s been working to make this wonderful evening. What do I see? Others hurrying out to be the first ones at the wardrobe? The curtain is still up and singers, actors and ballet dancers from the Viennese opera still on stage?  I think it´s disrespectful to the actors, it´s disturbing to the other visitors. It´s not making any sense to me. But then I think:

“Happy is he who forgets, what can´t be changed anyway …. “

“Glücklich ist, wer vergisst, was doch nicht zu ändern ist” 

 J.Strauss II – die Fledermaus, Act I

Fledermaus Vienna happy is

Some more reads on etiquette at the opera, classical concerts, theaters

Leave a Reply

